I Did It!

Back in 2009, I took my last flight without Xanax. Since then, I’ve been popping those little magical pills on travel days. While the side-effects are really non-existent, I just didn’t love the idea of medicating myself. I’ve really struggled with anxiety while flying over the last 2 1/2 years, and last weekend, I felt like I made a huge leap! I flew without any meds!!! And guess what, it was totally fine. There was even some turbulence (very minimal), and my first thought wasn’t “OH MY GOSH, WE’RE GOING TO DIE” … It was more like, “I don’t LOVE that, but I’m sure it’ll be over soon” …

So, I am so proud of myself, and thankful to Jimmy for being really supportive of me … Here’s what made this trip memorable:

Morning cocktails … Thankful the Southwest crew wasn’t judging us for day drinking before 5:00!

 

This guy … Yeah, smelled of smoke & beer, kicked his bag down the jetway, then proceeded to snore (over the noise of the engines) for 3+ hours. At least he gave us a reason to laugh.

 

Before we even boarded, I knew it would be a good flight. So did Jimmy … here he is dancing down the jetway. Then later, looking mighty fine while reading.

There was the case of the sticky tray table … yuck.

 

Not only am I (typically) a wreck while flying, I also get extreme motion sickness while driving, boating, moving … I thought planes were the exception, but nope. Had to pop a few of these babies before getting all the way home.

Thankful we weren’t flying to Canada … this jet’s crew didn’t seem to notice the luggage they dropped off their cart. We spent our entire lunch watching different people drive right past it.

 

Then, as a reward (that’s why I’m telling myself) for a great day of flying, we got to see Mt. Hood in all of her beauty. We flew super close …

 

We’re both very happy to be back in Portland after a long weekend away. It was totally fun, but we do love our little bubble here. Excited for the next few weeks (my birthday is next Monday, then J’s mom will be visiting) … So much to do, but we’re having a great time!

One response to “I Did It!

  1. Yippee for you no drugs…

Leave a Reply

