Baby Fever

There. I said it! I have baby fever!! … I know I’ve hinted at it before, but now, it’s really in full force.

Before, we were just getting settled into our new life in Portland. Now, we’re settled. Before, I didn’t have health coverage that would cover pregnancy. Now, I do. Before, Jimmy and I were unsure of our financial situation in this new place. Now, we’re saving & have our budget all figured out. Before, we had some rough days where we weren’t communicating effectively. Now, we’ve really worked on respecting our relationship & marriage, and we’re really really happy.

So, now, it’s a matter of time.

Today I was thinking about something really interesting: I’m not in love with other people’s babies. I don’t swoon every time I see a newborn … I don’t go crazy when I see baby things. While I do think baby clothes are cute, and of course, I think newborns are adorable, I get way more excited when I think about our babies.

What will they look like? Will they look more like me or J? I imagine J as a dad … an amazing dad. I can’t even say it or think about that enough … Him reading bedtime stories to our kids, or teaching them all of the things that dads teach their kids. I can’t wait for the nights when we put our kids to bed then have a lovely date night in the comfort of our own home. I can’t wait for family camping trips, and for these future kids to play with our dogs. I’m not even sure I am fully ready to raise a child (is anyone ever really ready??), but I am so excited to be pregnant & birth a baby. I’m excited to foster a life … I’m excited to teach a child, and help them grow into a good person.

We are only getting older … we could wait forever, then our chance will be gone. We’re comfortable in our life right now. It’s the first time in a long time we’ve been really comfortable … comfortable with money, with our time, with the adventures we’re going on, with friends, and with each other. So, it’s one of those things … do we give up a little bit of comfort to leap into the next chapter? We’ve only been married for 4 years, but we’ve been together for almost 7. I’ve wanted to have J’s babies for most of that time!! I can’t help it … he’s a good looking man.

This is where we are …

It’s only a matter of time.

6 responses to “Baby Fever

  1. Well Damn, that’s really grown up thing to say. I do think you two will make Great parents!!! But Damn, 2,400 miles away, that’s too far for this future Grand- Dude!!! Love you two.

  2. Awww . . . so happy for you both . . . can’t wait for you to be parents . . . but not looking forward the distance . . . BLAH!

  3. Your world is yours to control, it is yours to do or not to do. It will make us happy for you to be happy and bust buttons on both of us.

    Good luck and keep doing your life as you see it.

    Love to both and remember, we are here for you.

  4. Just wanted to say…the chance is never truly gone. There is always adoption!

    You guys will make great parents! And things will happen when it’s time for things to happen. You’ve done a great job at laying the foundation! Now when it does happen, you will be prepared. (Or, you know, prepared to whatever degree, since everyone says you’re not ever *really* prepared for a baby. You know what I mean. ;o)

  5. Bring it! You know, there has been nothing in the world that made me want to recruit folks into the club as when I was pregnant. I’ll be looking forward to the news!

  6. Oh, you two are going to make some amazing parents! I’m smiling right now thinking about it :) :) :)

Leave a Reply

