Chickpea Noodle Soup

Even though I’ve been a vegetarian for several years, I still have a way of remembering exactly what some of my favorite ‘meaty’ foods tasted like … a McDonalds cheeseburger, my mom’s fried chicken, and the number one comfort food in my book: chicken noodle soup. Who cares that it was from a can? It was so freaking good.

Thankfully, since becoming a vegetarian, I’ve only been sick a few times (maybe just two times), so it’s not like I had to suffer through yearly flus/colds without a bowl of chicken noodle soup. Though, I have to admit, there are rainy days when it just seems like the perfect meal.

Well, now, I’ve found a replacement. A really good replacement. Chickpea Noodle Soup may be one of my favorite ‘I-need-comfort-food’ meals ever.

Ingredients

  • 7 cups water
  • 3/4 box of elbow macaroni (about 3/4 of a pound)
  • 1 can of chickpeas (drained & rinsed)
  • 1 tbsp. canolla oil
  • 1 tbsp. butter (use a tbsp of olive oil here to make this vegan)
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • a pinch of pepper for seasoning

Directions

  1. Bring water to a boil in a large sauce pan
  2. Add pasta, chickpeas, salt, garlic salt, oil & butter to the pan. Cook until the pasta is tender.
  3. Serve. Be sure to add a little pinch of pepper in the bowl. Yes, seriously, it’s that easy. The water becomes the broth … a seriously tasty broth that gives the canned stuff a run for it’s money.
  4. Enjoy!

Adapted from Fresh 365

3 responses to “Chickpea Noodle Soup

  1. Since I don’t eat chickenpeas THAT often, I’m not sure how these would affect the broth, but I love to add lots of finely diced celery onion and carrot to my chicken noodle soup broth. I also like to use veggies that are slightly past their prime to make veggie broth (just throw in any veggies that are starting to get wilty or dry and boil in a stockpot of water for 10-20 minutes) and store it in the freezer. That way, I always have my own homemade broth stocked up! Will have to try this. =)

  2. Looks great, Im not a vego but I’m trying to eat a few more healthy vegetarian dishes. This one looks like a winner…yum!

    • Good for you! My husband isn’t a vegetarian, so I try to consider that when prepping meals (making vegetarian dishes that a meat-eater will like too). This one os really good … and SUPER easy.

Leave a Reply

