Why Being A Vegetarian Is Easy

Whenever the topic of vegetarianism comes up with new friends, I typically like to take a back-seat to the conversation. It’s inevitable that I’ll hear things like, “but how do you get your protein?” or “I could totally be a vegetarian if I could eat bacon!” I never judge anyone for their food choices. Ever. If someone wants help or information or recipes for the vegetarian lifestyle, I’m happy to oblige. Obviously, it’s something I believe in … I’m coming up on 4 years! By the way … my responses to those two questions is: DO YOUR RESEARCH! There’s more absorbable protein in plant sources than in meat sources … and I loved bacon too! However, pigs are smarter than dogs, and I just couldn’t imagine knowing that and not caring about eating them. So sad.

Giving up meat was never hard for me. In fact, I had been suffering from severe stomach problems as long I could remember … and once I stopped eating meat, the problem was completely solved. That, within itself, was enough to keep me from eating meat ever again. Being a vegetarian has helped me eat more healthy, whole foods … and most of all, it’s forced me to be more adventurous while cooking and eating. It’s easy, because the food is good.

The only difficulty has been learning to live with a non-vegetarian. Our current situation is this: our home is vegetarian. No meat in the house. If he wants to eat meat outside the house … he’s more than welcome. One time J told me he couldn’t be married to me if I decided to be a vegan. WHAT?! It just couldn’t work. Well, over the past month, I bet 1/2 of our at-home meals have been vegan. Guess what, we’re still married! Take that Mr. Stadick. I never forced him to be a vegetarian … We got into a few fights early on about it. Basically, he told me he’ll never be 100% vegetarian and that I just have to get over it. So I did. I’d obviously love it if he never ate meat again, but it’s not really my business. Our future kids are another story: we fully intend on raising little, nerdy vegetarian kids.

This whole post leads to me this: J and I talked last night about doing a 30 day vegan diet. Once we get moved to Portland, we’re gonna do it. The only exception will be Thanksgiving (I can’t keep my man from enjoying turkey). After reading some amazing vegan blogs … I realized, we don’t really eat much dairy anyway. Everyday things like eggs can easily be substituted with something called a ‘flax egg’ (water & flax seed mixed … forms a gooey egg-like texture), and instead of cows milk, almond or soy milk will do the trick. There are several brands of vegan cheeses … and using nutritional yeast is a great way to get a creamy texture in a dish. Lastly, coconut ice cream is the icing on the cake. It’s vegan … and dreamy!

Vegan Asian Lettuce Wraps! Mmmmmm.

In the next month or so, I’m planning a blog post for links to my favorite vegan/vegetarian blogs, and I’ll be sharing more vegan recipes. I think it’s interesting that more of our friends & family have adopted Meatless Monday and/or vegan food into their diets. I think it’s awesome that people are becoming more aware of their food choices! Kudos to you for taking a stand!

5 responses to “Why Being A Vegetarian Is Easy

  1. I love meat and will sneak a hot dog to my grandbabies….just saying

  2. Aw yay! I can’t wait to see the recipes and hear more :-)

  3. I read this on my phone a few days ago and meant to comment…. I have always been a meat lover. I could eat a medium-cooked steak any day of the week. BUT since I got pregnant, I have had a really hard time with just about all meat. I thought it would go away after the baby came, but no luck. Ground beef is the WORST. I try. But one bite of a hamburger is too much. It makes me gag. And that makes me sad (see steak comment above). I have very seriously considered looking into a vegetarian lifestyle. I couldn’t go all the way, I don’t think, but I appreciate how easy you make it appear.

    • See, now my fear is that I’ll start craving meat when I become pregnant!!! I totally feel you though: I still eat dairy/eggs, but for some reason it’s getting harder. Like you, I don’t think I’ll ever call myself a vegan, but the changes in my diet make me feel better! :) You know, I’ll love ya just the same whether you eat medium cooked steak or fully cooked tofu!! :)

Leave a Reply

