The Perfect Protein Smoothie

After taking about 2 weeks off from running, I’m back! I went to the Monon this morning for about a half hour. Today, I started theCouch to 5K running plan. Since I was taken off my 1/2 marathon training plan due to shin splints, I decided I need a new strategy. At this point, I’m not running for time or distance … I’m just running to get past this injury.

With all that said, I’m also really focusing on my diet. We decided breakfast would best be served as a smoothie … a healthy smoothie. There are SO many terrible ways to make a smoothie (with juices, ice cream, etc.). This smoothie is HEALTHY and it actually tastes amazing. Thanks to the folks over at No Meat Athlete for giving me a jumping off point for the recipe.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 soft fruit (I go back and forth between using bananas and avocados)
  • 1 handful of frozen fruit (I typically use strawberries, blueberries & mango)
  • Small squirt of agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp hemp protein powder
  • 2 tsp rolled oats
  • 2 tsp ground flax seed
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 handful of fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • Top off with enough water to cover about 3/4 of ingredients

Don’t let the oatmeal, flax seeds & spinach scare you!! The sweetness from the fruit & agave nectar will make this smoothie taste good. In fact, the more you drink, try putting less sweet stuff in there (less nectar, subbing an avocado for the banana). On my non-running days, I’ll probably stick with an egg and a peanut butter spoon for breakfast.

The next goal is creating my own hemp protein powder mix. The pre-made stuff is expensive and full of things I don’t necessarily need (and missing a few things I do need).

One response to “The Perfect Protein Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Making Our Own Protein Powder Mix | The Oregon Tale

Leave a Reply

