Organic Produce : When is it Worth It?

I just got back from an awesome trip to the grocery store. Yeah, most people probably don’t find it exhilarating … but hey, I got a week’s worth of food for $58.00. That my friends is something to be excited about!

I wanted to take a minute to explain our philosophy on eating organic. Since we’re a vegetarian household, produce plays a huge part in our daily menus. This is how I decide what will be organic and what won’t be:

Are we eating the outside of the plant?

Things like: onions, avacados, citrus, bananas, etc are all peeled before consuming. If the grower is using pesticides and other gross things around the food, a great deal of it will come off when preparing the food.

Things like: lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, carrots, etc are not generally peeled … so we choose to purchase the organic versions of these fruits & veggies.

This isn’t some concrete plan that everyone needs to stick too. In fact, if everything was available in an organic counterpart, we’d probably go that route. Sometimes, it’s even cheaper to buy organic (in that case, we will go with it). Here’s a great guide I found awhile ago that discusses the most and least contaminated foods.

So … from this trip, I bought everything in the photo above, as well as a dozen organic, vegetarian fed, free range eggs (I didn’t want them getting too warm) for $58.00. Our menu for the week is as follows:

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast: Protein smoothie
  • Lunch: Tomato sandwich
  • Dinner: Soyrizo BBQ tacos

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast: Protein smoothie
  • Lunch: Green salad with eggs, tomato & almonds
  • Dinner: Asian lettuce wraps

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: Protein smoothie
  • Lunch: Tomato, cucumber, white bean spread sandwich
  • Dinner: Potato taquitos

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Protein smoothie
  • Lunch: Egg salad sandwich with fresh tomato & lettuce
  • Dinner: Black bean tartines with cilantro lime rice

I bought some extra produce for snacking (carrots, cucumber, etc for hummus), and we’re trying greek yogurt this week instead of sour cream.

I’m hoping to photograph each of these dinners & share the recipes here, as I have a feeling this week is going to be delicious.

One more thing that’ll make this week taste a little better (I think I’m going to get extra brownie points from the hubs for this one):

One response to “Organic Produce : When is it Worth It?

  1. I can’t wait until you live here and I can make you cook for me. This all sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

