New Shoes & Whole Foods

These frackin’ shin splits are really becoming a pain in my ass! When I started to run, I had to get over the huge mental roadblock. It was like a fallen boulder in the middle of the road: This is boring. I can’t do this. I don’t like sweating. My lungs hurt. It’s too hot. It’s too cold. It’s raining. Jimmy told me I’d get over this, and thankfully, he was right! I absolutely love waking up and putting my feet on the pavement. Something about running and biking is so freeing! Back to the pain in the ass shin splints. I’m now finding that since I’ve gotten over this mental roadblock, I’m now faced with this physical roadblock. It sucks. I’m trying to fix it with a regimen of anti-inflammatories, ice & stretching. Also, I got new running shoes yesterday! I went to Blue Mile running store in Broad Ripple. The staff there is amazing … so knowledgeable. They recorded my gait on camera, then played it back frame-by-frame in order to analyze the way I run and get me into the proper shoes. I ended up with these babies. Pretty effing cute (and comfortable).

I went for a run this morning. By the end of it, my shins hurt so damn bad. So, I continued the anti-inflammatories, ice and stretching. As of now, they feel better. No verdict yet on these shoes. We’ll see if they help.

Also, we’re making a big effort towards eating more whole foods. Staying away from processed foods is super important to me. I’m trying to lose weight (in a healthy way), so being a vegetarian is the perfect excuse to eat all of the fruits & veggies I want.

Here’s my breakfast this morning (grape nuts, organic strawberries, organic blue berries & skim milk):

Here’s the result from our grocery trip, yesterday (only spent $87, and it’s mostly organic):

In case you’re wondering what $87 got us:

  • mozzarella cheese (not photographed)
  • 2 x avacado
  • 2 x green apples (organic)
  • 2 x potatoes (organic)
  • yellow onion
  • red onion
  • 2 x green bell pepper
  • red bell pepper
  • 2 x cucumber (organic)
  • red kale (organic)
  • cherry tomatoes (organic)
  • 4 x tomatoes (organic)
  • baby bella mushrooms (organic)
  • 6 x ear of corn
  • basil (organic)
  • baby spinach (organic)
  • dry chick peas
  • dry pinto beans
  • sliced almonds
  • sliced black olives
  • whole wheat pasta
  • whole wheat tortilla
  • feta cheese (not photographed)
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • 86% dark chocolate (yes, please)
  • jar of spaghetti sauce
  • french bread
  • whole grain bread
  • skim milk
  • grape nuts
  • organic, vegetarian fed, free-range eggs (not photographed)

Notice how little processed food is here? So wonderful. Also, we’re trying to cut back on alcohol at home … it’s full of empty calories. This grocery trip should keep us fed for over a week for breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Leave a Reply

