Mexican Quinoa

I realized after I titled this post (and recipe) that I probably could have come up with a better name. It should probably be called, ‘Quick Quinoa w/ Peppers & Onions’ … Something like that. I don’t want people thinking that this is what I consider Mexican food. Oh well … moving on!

When I’m working at home, I have to remind myself most days to eat lunch. The last thing I want to do is give in to the fast food devil on my shoulder. The only way to can accomplish this is by having a few, simple go-to recipes. You can prepare this whole meal in less than 15 minutes (and only use 2 pans). It’s light, fresh, full of whole ingredients, and could easily be vegan (just take out the cheese).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • Shredded cheese (optional)
  • 1 avocado
  • 10 cherry tomatoes (quartered)
  • Hot sauce to taste

How to Make:

  • Cook quinoa according to directions on package (typically a 1:2 quinoa/water ratio)
  • In pan, saute peppers & onions until soft and slightly brown
  • Add beans, cumin, salt & pepper. Stir, cook until beans are heated through.
  • Put quinoa in bowl, top with bean mixture, top with cheese.
  • Top with avocado, tomato and hot sauce.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

